⚡ LOOK OVER HERE 👋

How to survive the attention scramble of social media

So on our last issue we talked about brand pillars, their role and their necessity in defining what the value add of your platform, is on the big big world of creators.

Today we’re going to talk about attention.

Welcome to creator crunch, your personal guide through the Wild Wild World of Creators!

Before we begin, we need your help!! At XPO were constantly looking at ways creators can find value on our platform, so we’re looking to speak to part time and full time creators who regularly work with brands, on our bid to create a better experience for Creators - Click here if this is something you will be interested in taking part in … p.s you will be compensated for your time 😉

Today we’re talking about ATTENTION!

You might have seen all the changes happening to your Instagram, and maybe even your Pinterest. Yes all your online homes are competing for your attention. And to keep it real, one is really winning.

Let’s talk about TikTok for a second.

I was shocked when reading this, considering that the average video is 60 seconds long. But the truth is everywhere we go, our attention is being demanded, and there’s a war going on. Where does that leave you?

Well today’s crunch is simple. Here’s a few tips on surviving the attention war… and grow doing it!

1. Diversify your platforms.

Big platforms are great because they give you the opportunity to be discovered, however building a tower on a plot of land that you just don’t own, nor control is just never safe. So to put simply— As they build people, they can also destroy them. So reduce your ‘Platform Risk’

A report shows an overal decrease in organic engagement on instagram since 2020, with an increasing irrelevance of all important distinguishers like hashtags. With the changes happening on facebook, it’s just too risky to build only on one platform. my hunch is that with the most recent update, this will further drive engagement into the ground.

If you guys have seen my tik tok, i’m sure you’d be shocked to find out how silly i can be. (I know, they got me too). I tried to fight it, yes I hated tik tok, but knowing that there are now more opportunities available than ever I began to create short content that for me took the most littlest involvment I’ve ever put into content in my life + I got to be honest, direct and cheek along the way. And those are all things that I love. But if you take my tik tok and put it directly next to my Instagram, you might be shocked to discover that I am indeed the same person… Yes the content is different.

My instagram being a main vehicle for 90% of my earning as a creator how i communicate with brands and make myself appealling is simply different to how I do it on Tik Tok. So to be transparent I focus my instagram on every avenue of my lifestyle

2. Kill the Low Quality Content.

No no no, I don’t think your content is low quality. But here’s what Instagram thinks of the Tik Tok video you re uploaded because it was blowing up on Ti…

Yes, simply re uploading that video without what Instagram may deem additional material value simply means you will likely not have content that is pushed into the right communities. Think of the restaurant that you walk into with your own food, demand service, eat and leave. Well it probably just won’t sit well with the owner.

So create original content, that looks and feels good.

Ironically I was watching a Tik Tok Video by a world renowned marketer and he was asked how often should you post on Tik Tok, or Instagram and guess what his answer was?

As often as you actually give value!

3. You define your content, your content doesn’t define you.

This week I moved into a new place and I found myself cleaning—and dare I say enjoying it. It was pleasantly dreadful. I’ve changed I know!

However one of the real reasons i moved into my own space was to be able to create content freely where and when I liked with little cost (I wanted my house to be the studio!) So i had created a strategy to continue making my usual style of content from my living room. Here’s where everything changed!

They say cleanliness is next to Godliness, well just know that this cleaning gave me divine ideas. I thought, I have to clean… surely I can make content from this. So i threw the sponge down, found 3 creators who create cleaning content, and brainstormed my approach. Just like that new ideas were formulated. It may or may not be for my audience but I will bring them something new, test it out and see how it works.

After all, I have to do it anyways right! + I know everyone loves a good cleaning video so pshh it’s gonna work 🤷🏿‍♂️

I write all this to say, one tip above all things to keep attention and attract more along the way is to create a deep connection between yourself and your audience. The real reason I know my audience will care about the content I create ( mostly on instagram) is because over the years they have seen my growth, they’ve watched my development and whether they feel like it or not, we’re in this together, so this is just another side to me that we get to share. Don’t be scared to evolve your content as things change.

If you do all these things i’m certain that you won’t just gain attention but you will define a new path for yourself, one that will lead to fulfilling content as a creator but also for your followers.

Stay creating Folks!

 J.H